Upcoming sermons

Upcoming sermons

We are pleased to welcome guest preachers from various denominations and backgrounds to our Sunday services in St Salvator’s Chapel.

The 2014 – 2015 preachers are as follows:

Martinmas semester

Date: Sunday 7 September 2014 (Welcome Service).
Preacher: The Revd Dr Donald MacEwan, University Chaplain.
Sermon title: New neighbours and empty nests.
Date: Sunday 14 September 2014 (Opening Service).
Preacher: The Revd Dr Donald MacEwan, University Chaplain.
Sermon title: Judgement day.
Date: Sunday 21 September 2014.
Preacher: Revd Dr Laurence Whitley, Minister, Glasgow Cathedral.
Sermon title: Working the vineyard.
Date: Sunday 28 September 2014.
Preacher: Professor John Wyatt, Professor of Ethics and Perinatology, University College London.
Sermon title: Humanity and the cosmos.
Date: Sunday 5 October 2014.
Preacher: Revd Dr Michael Jagessar, Secretary for Racial Justice and Multicultural Ministry, United Reformed Church.
Sermon title: Unless you become… Imagine.
Date: Sunday 12 October 2014.
Preacher: The Rt Revd Hugh Gilbert OSB, Roman Catholic Bishop of Aberdeen
Sermon title: Called to the wedding.
Date: Sunday 19 October 2014.
Preacher: Revd Sally Foster-Fulton, Assoicated Minister, Dunblane Cathedral and Convener, Church of Scotland’s Church and Society Council.
Sermon title: The great emancipation.
Date: Sunday 26 October 2014 (St Andrews Voices).
Preacher: Revd Dr Donald MacEwan, University Chaplain.
Sermon title: Therefore we sing.
Date: Sunday 2 November 2014.
Preacher: Revd Benny Hazlehurst, Accepting Evangelicals.
Sermon title: Pharisees, sabbath, and same-sex marriage.
Date: Sunday 9 November 2014 (Remembrance).
Preacher: Dr Eric Stoddart, Lecturer in Practical Theology, School of Divinity.
Sermon title: No more of this.
Date: Sunday 16 November 2014.
Preacher: Revd Mary Ann Rennie, Minister of Dunfermline Abbey Church of Scotland.
Sermon title: Timing is everything.
Date: Sunday 23 November 2014.
Preacher: Revd Dr Donald MacEwan, University Chaplain.
Sermon title: The King’s speech.
Date: Sunday 30 November 2014 (Advent/St Andrewstide).
Preacher: James Crocker, DPhil Candidate in Modern Theology, University of Oxford.
Sermon title: Selling Christ.
Date: Sunday 7 December 2014.
Preacher: Revd Jennifer Macrae, Minister, St Mary’s Parish Church, Haddington.
Sermon title: Into the wilderness.
Date: Sunday 14 December 2014.
Preacher: Revd Dr Donald MacEwan, University Chaplain.
Sermon title: Sweetness and light.
Find out about the University carol services.

Candlemas Semester

Date: Sunday 25 January 2015.
Preacher: The Revd Dr Donald MacEwan, University Chaplain.
Sermon title:To be confirmed.

Date: Sunday 1 February 2015.
Preacher: Elaine Duncan, Chief Executive, Scottish Bible Society.
Sermon title: To be confirmed.

Date: Sunday 8 February 2015.
Preacher: Revd Scott McKenna, Minister, Mayfield Salisbury Parish Church, Edinburgh.
Sermon title: To be confirmed.

Date: Sunday 15 February 2015.
Preacher: Professor Richard English, Director of the Handa Centre for the Study of Terrorism and Political Violence, Wardlaw Professor of Politics.
Sermon title: To be confirmed.

Date: Sunday 22 February 2015 (Founders and Benefactors).
Preacher: Rt Revd John Chalmers,Moderator of the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland.
Sermon title: To be confirmed.

Date: Sunday 1 March 2015.
Preacher: Revd Dr Donald MacEwan, University Chaplain
Sermon title: To be confirmed.

Date: Sunday 8 March 2015.
Preacher: Professor Kristin De Troyer, Professor of Old Testament / Hebrew Bible, and Dean of Arts and Divinity.
Sermon title: To be confirmed.

Date: Sunday 29 March 2015.
Preacher: Professor Tina Beattie, Professor of Catholic Studies, University of Roehampton.
Sermon title: To be confirmed.

Date: Sunday 5 April 2015.
Preacher: Revd Dr Donald MacEwan, University Chaplain.
Sermon title: To be confirmed.

Date: Sunday 12 April 2015.
Preacher: Rt Revd Dr Gregory Cameron, Bishop of St Asaph.
Sermon title: To be confirmed.

Date: Sunday 19 April 2015.
Preacher: Revd Katie Hyslop, Assistant Curate, St John the Baptist, Carlisle.
Sermon title: To be confirmed.

Date: Sunday 26 April 2015.
Preacher: Revd Richard Coles, Broadcaster and Parish Priest, St Mary the Virgin, Finedon.
Sermon title: To be confirmed.

Date: Sunday 3 May 2015.
Preacher: Revd Dr Donald MacEwan, University Chaplain.
Sermon title: To be confirmed.

Date: Sunday 10 May 2015.
Preacher: Dr Jonathan Oloyede, Paster, The National Day of Prayer and Worship.
Sermon title: To be confirmed.

Date: Sunday 17 May 2015.
Preacher: The Most Revd Archbishop Leo Cushley, Archbishop and Metropolitan of St Andrews and Edinburgh.
Sermon title: To be confirmed.

Date: Sunday 24 May 2015.
Preacher: Revd Dr Donald MacEwan, University Chaplain.
Sermon title: To be confirmed.