Skip to content
Home > Subjects > Physics

Physics and Astronomy

Our courses in Physics provide you with the means of rationally and independently assessing your arguments and the skills of criticism and analysis, clear thinking and principled debate.




Graduate degrees in Physics are offered jointly by the universities of St Andrews and Stirling through the St Andrews and Stirling Graduate Programme in Philosophy (SASP). SASP currently offers the following masters degrees:
Photonics and Optoelectronic Devices MSc


Please contact a supervisor in your research area to enquire about PhD opportunities.
Ben, MA (Hons) Philosophy (Manchester, England)

“Studying at St Andrews gives you the opportunity to work with leading practitioners in an environment that naturally inspires philosophical study.”

Come visit St Andrews

If you are interested in studying at St Andrews consider coming for a day to explore the town, find out about courses and meet faculty.

NEXT VISIT DAY 17 August 2015 Sign up

Philosophy research updates

news story

Philosophy at St Andrews ranked first in Scotland

In the latest UK-wide assessment of the research of UK universities (REF 2014) the Philosophy Department was ranked 1st in Scotland and 5th in the UK (by grade point average). 83% of research was assessed as either 4* or 3*. Continue reading

Philosophy research areas

The St Andrews and Stirling Graduate Programme in Philosophy (SASP) is taught by the Philosophy departments in the universities of St Andrews and Stirling. Current research undertaken by the two departments includes:

Moral, Political and Legal Philosophy

The following members of staff are currently undertaking research into these areas in moral, political and legal philosophy. Dr Elizabeth Ashford: Ethics; Political Philosophy; Ancient Philosophy. Professor Marcia Baron: Ethical Theory; Philosophy of Criminal Law; Kant’s Ethics. Dr Rowan Cruft: Moral Philosophy; Political Philosophy; Ethics. Professor Berys Gaut: Aesthetics; Philosophy of Film; Creativity; Ethics. Dr Kent Hurtig: Moral Philosophy; Epistemology; Philosophy of Action; Philosophy of Mind. Dr Simon Hope: Moral Philosophy; Political Philosophy. Professor T Mulgan: Moral Philosophy; Political Philosophy; Philosophy of Religion. Dr Ben Sachs: Applied Ethics; Political Philosophy; Social Philosophy; Normative Ethics; Meta-ethics. Dr Ben Saunders: Political Philosophy; Normative/Applied Ethics. Dr Justin Snedegar: Metaethics; Practical Rationality; Ethics.

Epistemology, Philosophy of Mind and Philosophy of Language

The following members of staff are currently undertaking research into these areas in epistemology, philosophy of mind and philosophy of language. Dr Derek Ball: Philosophy of Mind; Philosophy of Language. Professor Jessica Brown: Philosophical Methodology; Epistemology. Professor Herman Cappelen: Philosophy of Language; Philosophical Methodology and related areas in Epistemology, Metaphysics and Philosophy of Mind. Dr Philip Ebert: Epistemology; Philosophy of Logic and Mathematics; History of Analytic Philosophy. Dr Ephraim Glick: Philosophy of Language; Metaphysics; Philosophy of Mind; Epistemology. Dr Patrick Greenough: Epistemology; Philosophy of Language; Philosophy of Logic. Dr Adrian Haddock: Philosophy of Mind; Philosophy of Action; Philosophy of Perception. Dr Simon Prosser: Philosophy of Mind; Metaphysics. Professor Michael Wheeler: Philosophy of Science; Philosophy of Mind. Logic and Metaphysics Dr Steinvor Toll Arnadottir: Metaphysics of objects. Dr Aaron Cotnoir: Metaphysics; Philosophical Logic; Philosophy of Language. Professor John Haldane: Philosophy of Mind; Philosophy of Value; Philosophy of Religion; Metaphysics; Mediaeval Philosophy. Professor Katherine Hawley: Philosophy of Science; Metaphysics; Epistemology. Professor Peter Milne: Formal Logic; Mathematical Logic; Philosophical Logic; Philosophy of Language; Philosophy of Science. Dr Barbara Sattler: Metaphysics; Aesthetics. Dr Sonia Roca-Royes: Metaphysics; Epistemology of Modality; Philosophy of Mathematics and Logic; Formal Logic and Philosophy of Language. Professor Peter Sullivan: History of Analytical Philosophy; Philosophy of Logic; Philosophy of Mathematics.

History of Philosophy

The following members of staff are currently undertaking research into these areas in history of philosophy. Professor Sarah Broadie: Classical Philosophy. Dr James Harris: Early Modern Philosophy; Enlightenment Philosophy (especially Hume and Reid). Dr Colin Johnston: History of Early Analytic Philosophy. Dr Barbara Sattler: Ancient Philosophy; History of Philosophy; Dr Jens Timmermann: Ethical Theory; Ancient Philosophy; Kant.

Philosophy research groups

The Philosophy department currently has two research groups:
The Centre for Ethics, Philosophy and Public Affairs (CEPPA) CEPPA  aims to promote research in philosophy relevant to topics of public importance and to promote the place of philosophy in these topics.
Arché: Philosophical Research Centre for Logic, Language, Metaphysics and Epistemology Arché aims to conduct and foster collaborative research on fundamental issues in metaphysics, epistemology and the philosophies of logic, language, mathematics and mind.
Philosophy research portal

Funding opportunities


The University offers a number of scholarships to undergraduate students, including up to four entrance bursaries, worth £500, to students in Philosophy who are from Scotland. Entrance bursary for Scottish students Undergraduate scholarships

MLitt students

SASP can offer a number of bursaries for students in the MLitt programme courtesy of generous funding provided by the Philosophy Quarterly. If you apply for the MLitt by 13 February 2015 you will be considered for this award. There are also a number of scholarships offered by the University available to masters students. Postgraduate taught scholarships

PhD students

Currently, there is at least one full doctoral studentship available to students accepted onto a PhD programme in Philosophy. This studentship covers maintenance at the AHRC rate and a full tuition fee waiver (at Home/EU fee level) for 3 years. The University also offers support to students in their applications for AHRC studentships. AHRC studenships   Funding for PhD students

Careers for graduates in philosophy

Recent graduates in Philosophy have found openings in local government, television production (Sky Sports), Oddbins as a wine adviser, as a public information intern for the United Nations Commission for Refugees, the National Health Service, the Co-operative Bank, insurance, the Crown Prosecution Service, publishing, and teaching English in Japan. It is not uncommon for St Andrews philosophy graduates to enter the legal profession after a conversion course or a second degree in law. A substantial proportion of philosophy graduates choose to pursue an academic career. Find out more about postgraduate study in Philosophy.

Where are they now?

Philosophy destinations

Case studies

Ed London administrator Full case study
Isobel Maths teacher Full case study
Michael Graduate Trainee Full case study

Interested in Philosophy at St Andrews?

Subscribe to receive important information including visiting days and other events for prospective students.


Department of Philosophy Edgecliffe The Scores St Andrews KY16 9AR Phone: +44 (0)1334 46 2486 Email: Philosophy research portal   Philosophy website
Admission to the University of St Andrews is governed by our Admissions policy.