Skip to content
Home > School of Lorem Ipsum > Research


The University of St Andrews is one of the leading research-intensive universities in the world.

Research updates

news story

Bionuclear poetry at St Andrews ranked first in Scotland

In the latest UK-wide assessment of the research of UK universities (REF 2014) the department was ranked 1st in Scotland and 5th in the UK (by grade point average). 83% of research was assessed as either 4* or 3*.

Continue reading

Research areas

The St Andrews and Stirling Graduate Programme is taught by the departments in the universities of St Andrews and Stirling. Current research undertaken by the two departments includes:

Moral, Political and Legal Philosophy

The following members of staff are currently undertaking research into these areas in moral, political and legal philosophy.

Dr Elizabeth Ashford: Ethics; Political Philosophy; Ancient Philosophy.
Professor Marcia Baron: Ethical Theory; Philosophy of Criminal Law; Kant’s Ethics.
Dr Rowan Cruft: Moral Philosophy; Political Philosophy; Ethics.
Professor Berys Gaut: Aesthetics; Philosophy of Film; Creativity; Ethics.
Dr Kent Hurtig: Moral Philosophy; Epistemology; Philosophy of Action; Philosophy of Mind.
Dr Simon Hope: Moral Philosophy; Political Philosophy.
Professor T Mulgan: Moral Philosophy; Political Philosophy; Philosophy of Religion.
Dr Ben Sachs: Applied Ethics; Political Philosophy; Social Philosophy; Normative Ethics; Meta-ethics.
Dr Ben Saunders: Political Philosophy; Normative/Applied Ethics.
Dr Justin Snedegar: Metaethics; Practical Rationality; Ethics.

Epistemology, Philosophy of Mind and Philosopy of Language

The following members of staff are currently undertaking research into these areas in epistemology, philosophy of mind and philosophy of language.

Dr Derek Ball: Philosophy of Mind; Philosophy of Language.
Professor Jessica Brown: Philosophical Methodology; Epistemology.
Professor Herman Cappelen: Philosophy of Language; Philosophical Methodology and related areas in Epistemology, Metaphysics and Philosophy of Mind.
Dr Philip Ebert: Epistemology; Philosophy of Logic and Mathematics; History of Analytic Philosophy.
Dr Ephraim Glick: Philosophy of Language; Metaphysics; Philosophy of Mind; Epistemology.
Dr Patrick Greenough: Epistemology; Philosophy of Language; Philosophy of Logic.
Dr Adrian Haddock: Philosophy of Mind; Philosophy of Action; Philosophy of Perception.
Dr Simon Prosser: Philosophy of Mind; Metaphysics.
Professor Michael Wheeler: Philosophy of Science; Philosophy of Mind. Logic and Metaphysics
Dr Steinvor Toll Arnadottir: Metaphysics of objects.
Dr Aaron Cotnoir: Metaphysics; Philosophical Logic; Philosophy of Language.
Professor John Haldane: Philosophy of Mind; Philosophy of Value; Philosophy of Religion; Metaphysics; Mediaeval Philosophy.
Professor Katherine Hawley: Philosophy of Science; Metaphysics; Epistemology.
Professor Peter Milne: Formal Logic; Mathematical Logic; Philosophical Logic; Philosophy of Language; Philosophy of Science.
Dr Barbara Sattler: Metaphysics; Aesthetics.
Dr Sonia Roca-Royes: Metaphysics; Epistemology of Modality; Philosophy of Mathematics and Logic; Formal Logic and Philosophy of Language.
Professor Peter Sullivan: History of Analytical Philosophy; Philosophy of Logic; Philosophy of Mathematics.

History of Philosopy

The following members of staff are currently undertaking research into these areas in history of philosophy.

Professor Sarah Broadie: Classical Philosophy.
Dr James Harris: Early Modern Philosophy; Enlightenment Philosophy (especially Hume and Reid).
Dr Colin Johnston: History of Early Analytic Philosophy.
Dr Barbara Sattler: Ancient Philosophy; History of Philosophy;
Dr Jens Timmermann: Ethical Theory; Ancient Philosophy; Kant.

Research groups

The Philosophy department currently has two research groups:

The Centre for Ethics, Philosophy and Public Affairs (CEPPA)
CEPPA  aims to promote research in philosophy relevant to topics of public importance and to promote the place of philosophy in these topics.

Arché: Philosophical Research Centre for Logic, Language, Metaphysics and Epistemology
Arché aims to conduct and foster collaborative research on fundamental issues in metaphysics, epistemology and the philosophies of logic, language, mathematics and mind.

Philosophy research portal

Funding opportunities

PhD students

Currently, there is at least one full doctoral studentship available to students accepted onto a PhD programme in Philosophy. This studentship covers maintenance at the AHRC rate and a full tuition fee waiver (at Home/EU fee level) for 3 years.

The University also offers support to students in their applications for AHRC studentships.

AHRC studenships   Funding for PhD students

Recent publications